* * available * *

Cookie (1)

Cookie

Age: 3 years

Status: available

Gender: Female

Breed: Large Mixed Breed

Spayed/Neutered: Yes

Special Needs: No

Description:

Cookie's Story:

Cookie’s story: Cookie was found as a stray back in May 2020, so we don’t know her history. Her foster family writes, “Cookie is definitely as sweet as her name suggests! Her favorite hobbies include chewing rope toys, eating peanut butter, squeaking, playing tug and giving kisses. At about 3 and a half, she’s very playful and loves to share her toys with me for a quick game, and then a few minutes later is snuggled up on my lap. Cookie loves a routine and can tell time better than most humans. She lets me know when it’s time to wake up every morning, when it’s time for a potty break, and when it’s time for dinner. As long as I follow her schedule, she’s as well behaved as can be! A little type A, she sometimes gets anxious when I stray from the routine and need to run an errand without her. She doesn’t love to be left alone but is getting better! As long as she’s left with an engaging toy or chew, she behaves like a champ in my absence. (I can watch her on the camera when I leave). She’s leash and yard trained and has only rarely had an accident in the house. She also knows a few commands (sit, stay, down, look) and is one of the smartest and most trainable dogs I’ve ever met. She’s patient and VERY treat motivated, so her name is pretty spot on!
Cookie will need to be an only dog, and I don’t have experience to know her behavior with cats or other pets. I also haven’t seen her interact with kids. She sometimes get too excited when we pass by other dogs outside, so she’ll need someone who can keep her calm and have a strong handle on the leash until she breaks that habit. Otherwise, she walks pretty well! She’s super observant with her eyes and her nose, so she sniffs half the time and stares half the time. She doesn’t miss a thing!
She’s a great WFH companion and an even better couch buddy. She always lets me get comfy first then finds a spot to squeeze in next to me and lay her head on my chest. She loves to be around people, make friends and play. She would be an excellent addition to a home with a big enough space for her to catch a toy and lay on a couch. She’s extremely content in an apartment and doesn’t require a yard as long as she can get her energy out on walks (or runs!)
She would be the sweetest addition to your family!”